My math stress is mostly resolved. I have listed Math in Focus on ebay; I’m hoping that sells, though I am resigned to the idea that it might not. I ordered Calvert Math from ebay, just the text book and workbook no lesson manual but really I’ve only been using the manuals to get page numbers lately.  Now I can just go in order with the book. We’re also going to try Beast Academy, so we’ll be trying our hand at doing two math curricula (there is no way to make this plural and make it look right to me) at once. I think we’ll start with 3a even though it looks like we could start with 3b only because it looks like they handle somethings differently and a review is always fun.  I’m excited about Beast Academy because it looks like it handles some equations like I was already rewriting them.  Which is great because I had the fill in the blank (ie, 3+__=6) I would rather do 3+x=6, to me having something to solve for just makes sense. One of the pretests mentions distributive property which I know we haven’t covered yet. So all very exciting.  We’ll still have access to all the Calvert Math games, and if Math in Focus doesn’t sell I’m keeping the punch out manipulatives and donating the rest.

I finished my third Christmas hat this week.  I’m feeling very accomplished and I updated my Ravelry with the photos.  I ordered Mini Riceball’s comic con/Halloween costume and the yarn I need to make the hat she needs.  The yarn should be here tomorrow and then I can get started on her hat.  I have one more circular needle to buy and then I’ll be able to start the last hat pattern.  Then I’ll go back and start doing each pattern a second time, unless I pick up the yarn for the boy’s hats. Then I have another a pattern I can throw into the rotation. The three hats in the photos also represent the three main colors I’m working with for my feminine hats. I may try and see if the super small balls of left over yarn could possibly make another hat.

Finished hats:

Christmas hat (1) Christmas hat (2) Christmas hat (3) Christmas hat (3a)

I keep telling myself I’ll work on my drawing too, but it’s not happening tonight.  I’m really hoping for a better photo, zooming in doesn’t work out with a low resolution.  Though it’s workable.  Mostly I think I’m just stalling because I was having trouble. I do keep looking at now though and thinking it looks great, so my confidence is building I’ll probably try to a do a little more this weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

